RSS

salty epiphany

09 Aug

“You know why they add salt to chocolate?” she asks.
Answer: “Salt opens the taste buds.”

I didn’t know.

Curious.

“You are the salt of the earth.”
“Let your speech always be with grace, seasoned with salt.”

If we are the salt of the earth,
then why is it
rather than opening taste buds
through our message and our movements
we so often numb them
or close the mouth altogether?

What a curious thought
that we, the salt of the earth,
would not merely season life
but actually open the taste buds to experience it.

More curious still
that within ourselves
or with others
we so rarely do…

salty chocolate

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2015 in haverings

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “salty epiphany

  1. Diane McPhail

    August 9, 2015 at 11:03 am

    Reblogged this on Diane McPhail | Artist, Writer, Teacher & Retreat Leader and commented:
    I love salt. My son says he alms gave me a “salt lick” one Christmas. He was serious. Said I would probably salt the salt lick. I suffered from extremely low blood pressure for most of my life and have discovered that my craving for salt is likely a natural way of self healing. I hope you enjoy this post from wordhaver.

     

Leave a Reply

 
