RSS

oh yes, I’ll take two of what she’s having

26 Sep

Screen Shot 2014-09-25 at 6.02.59 PM

Follow up to my “Silly Human” post.

And this is totally why I tagged my friend Holly when I posted this. Holly frequently addresses me as “comrade,” which is unfortunate. The only comrades I have are those who speak the language of suffering through personal experience. I sorry we both qualify – as she puts it so well – “more than some, less than others.” It not so much that “misery loves company” as “pain forms fellowship.”

I’ve always appreciated the Proverb (14:10):

The person who shuns the bitter moments of friends
will be an outsider at their celebrations.

There is a deep, subterranean connection, you see (well, I see, anyway), between “bitter moments” and “celebrations.” I frequently observe that funerals are a time for tears – both of deep joy and deep sorrow. They are connected. And those who have not known deep loss simply cannot laugh as deeply as those who have. The deeper your sorrow, the heartier the laughter. In fact, I’ve found that when I am laughing deeply at a funny joke, a scene in a comedy, or whatever, I feel grief from previous losses – that haven’t even been on my conscious mind – ready to launch, stacked up right behind my eyes.

But maybe that’s just me.

Or maybe it’s what George MacDonald is talking about. The Son of God suffered unto death, not that we might night suffer, but that our suffering might be like his. “For the joy that was set before him, he endured.” And there’s the ticket: “permeating, marrow-soaking joy” to give our suffering “buoyancy, redemption.”

Yes. Holly’s post was much better than mine.

Divine Bartender, do please serve me up a double of what she’s having…

joy

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 26, 2014 in haverings, Suffering

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “oh yes, I’ll take two of what she’s having

  1. ThinkingItOver

    September 29, 2014 at 9:57 am

    Am constantly amazed how the HS through my family is relentless in showing me truth! Have repeated that Hebrews verse probably more than a thousand times and now just today get how it can confirm my Father’s forever lovingkindness. There is was–written over two thousand years ago–the answer to why and how the pain in my journey can be traveled with joy–from the “beginning”. I can attest to seeing God’s hand once on the other side. But oh how much better it is to see the joy ahead. I think I wasted a whole lot of time “being” in pain.

     
  2. wordhaver

    September 29, 2014 at 12:44 pm

    “Seeing the joy” as opposed to wasting time “being” in pain. Brilliant! Thank you for that!

     

Leave a Reply

 
