RSS

sting

24 Feb

O Captain! My Captain!_1

_____________________________________________

Whitman mourned for Lincoln.
I for Lula.
Young girl captain of my soul.
O Captain! My Captain!
How you have perched me atop my bookish desk
to see the world anew.
O Captain! My Captain!
fallen cold and dead.

We move too quickly to comfort, I think.
Too quick to speak of one cold and dead being with sweet Jesus
of painting dawn’s landscape for us
or flying in heaven’s vaulted eternal skies
of bodies perfect
of pain’s demise
of happier times ahead.

And this is necessary.
Who can blame us?
When sword pierces heart with unrelenting, unmerciful thrusts
Who can blame us for trying to look beyond the blows?

O death, where is thy sting? asks apostle most holy.
Why here.
In this chasm.
On this bed of grief and loss and pain.

Death, I feel thy sting.
Still.

 Lula

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2014 in Poetry, Suffering

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “sting

  1. Chad Estes

    February 24, 2014 at 5:44 pm

    So sorry, Mike. I’m listening.

     
  2. wordhaver

    February 24, 2014 at 5:50 pm

    O Captain…

     
  3. Tess

    February 24, 2014 at 6:21 pm

    I see hands clutching the torn and jagged edges of the broken heart – tugging and pulling to close the gap. The mind sends a signal, “Heart, we must go on….” Yet, tears bleed from the wound of sorrow, self-control breached and forgotten. Grief is a wound that accepts no salve. Yet, with grace we find a way to move through the viscosity of oozing pain. Somehow. If the sting is a turbulent wave, may there be a gentleness in touching, in reaching across the chasm, and riding it out together.

     
  4. wordhaver

    February 24, 2014 at 6:22 pm

    Oh, I like this, Tess. Spoken like a true Chaplain with Pastor heart.

     
  5. Sister T

    February 24, 2014 at 6:27 pm

    My Dear Brother, I needed this. Thank you. Let the rainbows come after the flood of our souls has been spent. And God, thank You for Lula.

     
  6. wordhaver

    February 24, 2014 at 6:41 pm

    Well put. Amen. And thank you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
