RSS

Friday snappit…God and grief

25 Oct
get it. fraking read it.

get it. fraking read it.

I was the chaplain, but I didn’t have answers for anyone. I’d bring people water, make some calls for them, keep bugging the doctors to provide more information, but words of wisdom I had none. I just felt the unfairness of it all. I felt the uncontrollable terror of loss, the finality of someone never having a father again. I felt a sadness that is both poetic and grotesque. I would stand by and witness the disfiguring emotional process we politely call grief and, yes, I was aware of God’s presence, but I wanted to slap the hell out of him or her or it.

~ Nadia Bolz-Weber, Pastrix

The moment she heard that, she jumped up and ran out to him. Jesus had not yet entered the town but was still at the place where Martha had met him. When her sympathizing Jewish friends saw Mary run off, they followed her, thinking she was on her way to the tomb to weep there. Mary came to where Jesus was waiting and fell at his feet, saying, “Master, if only you had been here, my brother would not have died.”

When Jesus saw her sobbing and the Jews with her sobbing, a deep anger welled up within him. He said, “Where did you put him?”

“Master, come and see,” they said. Now Jesus wept.

John 11.29-35 | Message Bible

nuff' said

nuff’ said

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 25, 2013 in snappit

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
