RSS

fear-thinking

07 Mar

Be empty of worrying.gagged
Think of who crafted thought!

Why do you stay in prison
when the door is so wide open?

Move outside the tangle of fear-thinking.
Live in silence.

Flow down and down in always
widening circles of being.

There’s a strange frenzy in my head,
of birds flying,
each particle circulating on its own.
Is the one I love everywhere?

Love this from Rumi.

What a prison worry. What a chain fear-thinking.

The door is so wide open, and yet still I hover inside shadows, remaining captive to toothless fears. My tongue and fingers bound, paralysed not by awe but by shadows large on the wall. Fear of frowning and fondness of fawning both equally enslaving.

What others will think. What they will say. Frayed and fearing frays of words. Fearing frowns of judgment.

Bring on the strange frenzy in my head.

Release birds and particles to freely fly and bear me where they will.

The One I love is everywhere. So let me flow right out the wide open door, spiraling down into widening circles of being that suspend supposed logic, that defy imagination.

And I would hestitate before such a breath-taking threshhold as this…
over a shadow frown on the wall?

What, I wonder, holds you in your cell before such a wide open door?

the_tree_of_life_movie_image_slice_01

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2013 in Faith, musings, Poetry

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “fear-thinking

  1. Alice Hoffman

    March 7, 2013 at 6:49 pm

    Love this Mike. Man ,the prison is of our making! I remember one day we were worshipping and I saw a picture of Jesus unlocking prison doors and people did not come out. That is our little tiny thinking of what He has done and what He has made us capable of. Down with worry! Up with dancing out of the prison. Don’t sneak out or creep out of your prison. Dance!!!!

     
  2. wordhaver

    March 7, 2013 at 6:51 pm

    As long as the dance doesn’t have to be in step or pretty… 🙂

     
  3. Jessica

    March 8, 2013 at 8:03 am

    Lovely. And I love Rumi.

     

Leave a Reply

 
