RSS

swords into ploughshares

24 Jan

My friend Tempe shared this TED talk with me this morning.

One of those times I see an email first thing in the morning, open and see it has a link, see that the link is a video. Do I have time for this? Open the link, see the video is fourteen minutes long. Do I have time for this? But then feel compelled to hit play.

Oh my. Yes, I’m sentimental. I admit it. But this was hitting a wellspring of tears beyond mere sentiment.

Swords into ploughshares. Spears into pruning hooks. Every garment rolled in blood gathered and burned. swords into plowsharesMissiles into missives of love. The knowledge of God covering the earth as waters fill the sea. I have a dream. Imagine. I see the barricade. Can you hear the people sing?

I saw Christ’s seed spread far in the wide world. The Prince of Peace bringing it, not through our religious or political efforts, but generally in spite of them. People following the Prince of Peace, whether he is named and claimed or not, following his agenda of wall demolition, hatred diffusion, reconciliation effusion. Despite us. In us. Through us.

All this flashed before me.

If you watch, perhaps you’ll just say, “Huh.” Maybe even “Meh.” Maybe worse. But maybe. More.

We are not enemies, but friends. We must not be enemies. Though passion may have strained it must not break our bonds of affection. The mystic chords of memory, stretching from every battlefield and patriot grave to every living heart and hearthstone all over this broad land, will yet swell the chorus of the Union, when again touched, as surely they will be, by the better angels of our nature.

Final words of Lincoln’s first inaugural address, 1861

barricade

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 24, 2013 in Videos

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “swords into ploughshares

  1. retroillini

    January 29, 2013 at 5:31 pm

    Thank you, again, pastor Mike, for sharing something I would never have known about. Speaks a thousand words.

     

Leave a Reply

 
