RSS

Watching the Way

20 May

Havering on the Way_1

It’s been nearly a month since I’ve really had the time to sit down and write. Maybe it’s not such a matter of time in the midst of chemo rounds and trying to get caught up on numerous fronts both personally, at home, and at work.

But in a way I haven’t felt released to write.

So many things smashing, stirring, stewing, simmering in my mind these days and weeks.

Some I’ve been able to process verbally with the very close company of friends with whom I am increasingly blessed to share this journey of life. But the rest has continued stirring, stirring, stirring within me. But getting up this morning, it was suddenly there, the simple call coming from somewhere. Write.

And as I obey the call and ask the question, “What?” I find myself drawn to The Way.

Back in March my friend Trevor mentioned this film called The Way. Watch it. You’ll like it. We rented a copy and watched it the Saturday before my surgery. “You’ll like it” turned out to be the understatement of the year. It has become a catalyst for me like few other films have – which is saying something for one who tends to see spiritual realities springing to life in films that others (let’s call them normal people) will watch and say, “Yeah, that was a good flick.”

I’ve been musing internally on The Way for the past two months now.

I ordered the soundtrack before my surgery in March. It was literally musical therapy for me while I couldn’t do much more than recline those first days home, each track literally touching something deep within.

Three days after coming home, a friend came over to visit, and I asked on a lark, “Do you have a two hours? I have something to show you.”  We sat down at watched The Way.

In my first major foray out of the house a week later, I invited myself over to another friend’s home and brought The Way.

Earlier this month I showed it to a gathering of small group leaders.

Each viewing stirs me afresh.

Now that’s quite the build-up, and thus in viewing The Way after it, you may be left scratching your head and asking, “Yeah, that was a good flick. So?” But to better appreciate (or not) the musings I have to share, you need to watch it, or perhaps watch it again.

And who knows? It just may be a catalyst for you without me having to say another word.

So watch. Then join me for some musings about The Way.

I’m waiting…

Buen Camino.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 20, 2012 in Church, musings

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
