RSS

good answers have questions in them

22 Jan

I like the comment by my friend Harry on last week’s post “I get questions”: Beware of answers without questions and answersquestions in them.

I am blessed by the answer to my answer from the original query-ist:

You bring up some interesting points. I would add to our own shortfalls I would not be surprised if our eyes are blinded by God for a reason. It’s funny how God somehow seems more real with a Bible that has mysteries about it than a bible that is absolutely perfect.  

Like, like, like.

Of course he also went on to say:

I must say that I really enjoy your sermons.  

Yes, I like this guy. And thank you, kind reader, for indulging me in a brief moment of narcissistic self back slapping. (It’s a dirty job, but someone just has to do it…and that would seem to be me.)

I love my friend’s answer.I love the question in his answer. It is funny how God is more real with a Bible that has mysteries about it than a bible that is absolutely perfect. The capitalization here – and the absence of it – are actually his, no doubt inadvertent. But quite fitting, I think. It is the Bible with mysteries acknowledged and embraced that is the Bible. Anything else is just a bible.

The same may be said of Jesus. Of God. Of Holy Spirit.

The same may be said of Life.

questions-and-answers

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 22, 2013 in Bible Questions

 

Tags: ,

Leave a comment